//
you're reading...
2.2

2.2.8 – Fringes and Interiors: Transverse and Ascending

Fringes and Interiors:  Transverse and Ascending
Medium:  Acrylic on paper

Melissa R. Schwartz, Virginia Tech
meliss1@vt.edu

Fringes and Interiors:  Transverse and Ascending by Melissa Schwartz

Fringes and Interiors: Transverse and Ascending by Melissa Schwartz

When I initially conceived this piece, I was considering the concept of borders as essentially edges, limits, and boundaries.  While trying to allow my understanding of that concept to visualize itself and letting the color flow, I began to think about the layering of the paint, allowing for both transparent and opaque, smooth and textured overlap of shapes and colors.  I hoped (paradoxically) to obscure ‘borders’ as I delineated them in order to call to mind the constructed nature of real-world borders.  As I considered people in relation to them, I focused on the variety of texture, on deep versus shallow spaces, and on the subtle change in the appearance of color depending on its position in relation to other hues.  For me, these elements represent the multifaceted, fluid relationships of individuals to borders.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

